Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

Opinion Editorials

June 5, 2015 Opinion Editorial
By U.S. Rep. Tim Walberg and State Rep. Kevin Cotter

"Kind of like pennies from heaven. It gets you a toy or something that you need, is the way we typically look at it."

May 18, 2015 Opinion Editorial
Congratulations to the Class of 2015. You mastered a skill or subject matter and now possess a strong foundation for success in today's job market.

Issues:
May 14, 2015 Opinion Editorial
The pervasive mentality in our nation's capital can be summed up in three words: Washington knows best.

I disagree, and I'm working to change it.

I believe Michigan families — not Washington bureaucrats — are better equipped to make decisions on what's best for their family or small business.

April 15, 2015 Opinion Editorial
As much as we dread the arrival of April 15 each year, thanks to the president's health care law, Tax Day is getting even worse.

March 24, 2015 Opinion Editorial
It's far too difficult these days to find common ground in Washington, but when it comes to our moral obligation to eradicate human trafficking, we have a strong foundation for achieving it.

The scope of this heinous crime is not limited to faraway countries -- it happens right here in Michigan and across the United States.

February 16, 2015 Opinion Editorial
A recent New York Times headline aptly described the story I often hear repeated as I meet with hard working taxpayers across Michigan's 7th District: "Middle Class Shrinks Further as More Fall Out Instead of Climbing Up."

Michigan families work hard to get ahead, but for far too many, a chance at the American Dream is slipping out of reach.

January 30, 2015 Opinion Editorial
By Sen. Rand Paul and Rep. Tim Walberg

There are many reasons why the Internal Revenue Service is perhaps the least-loved agency in America -- a tax code so complex that it seems like you need an advanced degree to understand it, the dreaded audit process and revelations that certain groups have been targeted based on their political beliefs.

January 30, 2015 Opinion Editorial
The new Congress is less than one month old, and President Obama has already issued eight veto threats, including before some legislation even received an up or down vote.

That number represents the most threats to start a new Congress since 1985 when the practice of issuing formal veto threats began.

November 11, 2014 Opinion Editorial

As we take time this week to pay tribute to our military men and women who have returned home from the battlefield, I hope you will make the day more personal by reflecting on individuals in our community – whether a relative, neighbor or friend – who volunteered to put on a uniform and serve in defense of our great nation.

Issues:
September 5, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Imagine you are driving down the highway on your way to buy a car. You spent months researching years, makes and models, and you finally found somebody who was selling the exact ride you were looking for at a reasonable price. Suddenly, police pull you over for allegedly going 37 mph in a 35 mph zone.

Pages