Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Tim Walberg

Representing the 7th District of Michigan

Connect

Opinion Editorials

February 16, 2015 Opinion Editorial
A recent New York Times headline aptly described the story I often hear repeated as I meet with hard working taxpayers across Michigan's 7th District: "Middle Class Shrinks Further as More Fall Out Instead of Climbing Up."

Michigan families work hard to get ahead, but for far too many, a chance at the American Dream is slipping out of reach.

January 30, 2015 Opinion Editorial
By Sen. Rand Paul and Rep. Tim Walberg

There are many reasons why the Internal Revenue Service is perhaps the least-loved agency in America -- a tax code so complex that it seems like you need an advanced degree to understand it, the dreaded audit process and revelations that certain groups have been targeted based on their political beliefs.

January 30, 2015 Opinion Editorial
The new Congress is less than one month old, and President Obama has already issued eight veto threats, including before some legislation even received an up or down vote.

That number represents the most threats to start a new Congress since 1985 when the practice of issuing formal veto threats began.

November 11, 2014 Opinion Editorial

As we take time this week to pay tribute to our military men and women who have returned home from the battlefield, I hope you will make the day more personal by reflecting on individuals in our community – whether a relative, neighbor or friend – who volunteered to put on a uniform and serve in defense of our great nation.

Issues:
September 5, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Imagine you are driving down the highway on your way to buy a car. You spent months researching years, makes and models, and you finally found somebody who was selling the exact ride you were looking for at a reasonable price. Suddenly, police pull you over for allegedly going 37 mph in a 35 mph zone.

August 20, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Our country has long been predicated on and flourished under the belief that a good, honest day's work brings success. As many families continue to struggle under one of the slowest economic recoveries in decades, we are reminded daily that America can't work if enough Americans aren't working.

July 24, 2014 Opinion Editorial

The U.S. contains more oil, coal and natural gas resources than any other nation in the world, yet hardworking families across Michigan are still struggling to pay the price at the pump. With these abundant resources and a workforce yearning for new opportunities, Americans shouldn't be forced to choose between filling the gas tank or putting food on the table.

July 17, 2014 Opinion Editorial

 For many Americans, the dream of a comfortable middle-class existence seems increasingly out of reach.

June 30, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Nearly 2 million students graduated from college or a university last year yet, in spite of reaching a major milestone, many of these college graduates are struggling to find work that reflects their skill set. In the latest jobs report, the unemployment rate for 20- to 24-year-olds totaled 11.9 percent — almost double the national average.

June 23, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Each year, millions of men, women and children as young as 12 years old are trafficked around the world and even here in the U.S. Because combatting this issue is so important to me I recently held a human trafficking forum with local officials to discuss what we're doing to end these heinous crimes, and by the sheer number of you who attended can tell it's important to you too.

Pages