Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

Opinion Editorials

April 15, 2015 Opinion Editorial
As much as we dread the arrival of April 15 each year, thanks to the president's health care law, Tax Day is getting even worse.

March 24, 2015 Opinion Editorial
It's far too difficult these days to find common ground in Washington, but when it comes to our moral obligation to eradicate human trafficking, we have a strong foundation for achieving it.

The scope of this heinous crime is not limited to faraway countries -- it happens right here in Michigan and across the United States.

February 16, 2015 Opinion Editorial
A recent New York Times headline aptly described the story I often hear repeated as I meet with hard working taxpayers across Michigan's 7th District: "Middle Class Shrinks Further as More Fall Out Instead of Climbing Up."

Michigan families work hard to get ahead, but for far too many, a chance at the American Dream is slipping out of reach.

January 30, 2015 Opinion Editorial
By Sen. Rand Paul and Rep. Tim Walberg

There are many reasons why the Internal Revenue Service is perhaps the least-loved agency in America -- a tax code so complex that it seems like you need an advanced degree to understand it, the dreaded audit process and revelations that certain groups have been targeted based on their political beliefs.

January 30, 2015 Opinion Editorial
The new Congress is less than one month old, and President Obama has already issued eight veto threats, including before some legislation even received an up or down vote.

That number represents the most threats to start a new Congress since 1985 when the practice of issuing formal veto threats began.

November 11, 2014 Opinion Editorial

As we take time this week to pay tribute to our military men and women who have returned home from the battlefield, I hope you will make the day more personal by reflecting on individuals in our community – whether a relative, neighbor or friend – who volunteered to put on a uniform and serve in defense of our great nation.

Issues:
September 5, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Imagine you are driving down the highway on your way to buy a car. You spent months researching years, makes and models, and you finally found somebody who was selling the exact ride you were looking for at a reasonable price. Suddenly, police pull you over for allegedly going 37 mph in a 35 mph zone.

August 20, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Our country has long been predicated on and flourished under the belief that a good, honest day's work brings success. As many families continue to struggle under one of the slowest economic recoveries in decades, we are reminded daily that America can't work if enough Americans aren't working.

July 24, 2014 Opinion Editorial

The U.S. contains more oil, coal and natural gas resources than any other nation in the world, yet hardworking families across Michigan are still struggling to pay the price at the pump. With these abundant resources and a workforce yearning for new opportunities, Americans shouldn't be forced to choose between filling the gas tank or putting food on the table.

July 17, 2014 Opinion Editorial

 For many Americans, the dream of a comfortable middle-class existence seems increasingly out of reach.

Pages