Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

Opinion Editorials

April 25, 2016 Opinion Editorial
Talk to nearly any small business owner or employee and they'll tell you how challenging it has become to grow and create jobs.

The combination of heavy-handed regulations, confusing paperwork requirements, and a complex and unfair tax code make it harder and harder to succeed.

April 8, 2016 Opinion Editorial
In 2014, the number one cause of injury-related deaths in the entire state of Michigan was drug overdoses.

It's a tragic and fast-growing epidemic that touches every corner of our state and is tearing apart families and communities.

March 30, 2016 Opinion Editorial

April Demers is no stranger to addiction — she was born into it.

At a young age, April slept in the car while her mom drank at the bar. As she grew up, April's mom would disappear for days, leaving her to fend for herself.

These experiences made April determined to reverse the trends of addiction.

Issues:
March 21, 2016 Opinion Editorial
We've repeatedly heard the same campaign rhetoric for seven years, but President Obama finally submitted a plan to Congress in late February to close down Guantanamo Bay.
March 15, 2016 Opinion Editorial
By Tim Walberg and Mark Swanson

In today's all-too-often divisive political environment, the people of Michigan and across the country can be forgiven for their frustration.

Issues:
February 29, 2016 Opinion Editorial
February is Career and Technical Education Month, a time to raise awareness and recognize vital efforts to help today's students prepare for tomorrow's jobs.

Rapid advancements in science and technology continue to impact the economic landscape, the types of jobs available, and the skills necessary to do them.

January 15, 2016 Opinion Editorial
In recent years, we have witnessed the increasing pain and suffering inflicted by heroin and opioid addiction in communities in our districts and across the country. We, like many of our constituents, have seen firsthand how this tragic epidemic has affected our own friends and loved ones, and by sharing their stories we hope to put a face to the addiction crisis.

Issues:
January 4, 2016 Opinion Editorial
With January right around the corner, people across Michigan will take time to reflect on the previous 12 months and look with hope towards the New Year.

As the representative for Michigan's 7th District, 2015 has been a busy and productive year working on your behalf.

Issues:
December 21, 2015 Opinion Editorial
For Michigan families, the days leading up to Christmas are time for buying last-minute gifts, spending time with our loved ones and celebrating the joy of the season.

For the Obama administration, with attention focused on the holidays, it is a prime opportunity to impose new regulations on Americans.

November 18, 2015 Opinion Editorial
In going about our regular routines, we depend daily on our roads, bridges and public transportation to get us where we need to go. Our local businesses also depend on them to grow, create good-paying jobs and remain competitive.

Pages