Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

Opinion Editorials

January 2, 2017 Opinion Editorial
As 2016 draws to a close, and we look expectantly to the New Year, I'd like to thank you for the opportunity to continue to serve Michigan's 7th District and pause to reflect on the previous 12 months. In the past year, we hosted more than 40 coffee hours and townhall meetings in every corner of the district to listen to the people's priorities. 

Issues:
November 7, 2016 Opinion Editorial
How do we get the economy growing more rapidly, create more good-paying jobs, and make health care more affordable? These are the issues we consistently get asked about around kitchen tables, in coffee shops, and at small businesses as we meet with the people we are privileged to represent.

October 31, 2016 Opinion Editorial
In Michigan, we have a long and rich tradition of manufacturing. Our state's hardworking men and women are second to none and our manufacturing industry is a leading driver of good-paying jobs and economic growth.

September 20, 2016 Opinion Editorial
On Monday, U.S. Rep. Tim Walberg, R-Tipton, held a forum at Bedford High School to discuss the ongoing problem of heroin addiction in Monroe County and the nation.

Joining him were experts from around the county to shed light on various aspects of the issue and what potentially can be done to combat it.

June 14, 2016 Opinion Editorial
Christopher Risner was a standout high school athlete with scholarship offers to play basketball in college. Then his life spiraled out of control.

At first, he started taking medication to cope with his depression, but it eventually led to opioid and heroin addiction. After several stints in and out of rehab, Christopher is now clean and in recovery.

April 26, 2016 Opinion Editorial
By Rep. Tim Walberg and Rep. Mike Bishop

For too many Americans, an underperforming economy has diminished opportunities to pursue their dreams and leave behind a better future for the next generation.

April 25, 2016 Opinion Editorial
Talk to nearly any small business owner or employee and they'll tell you how challenging it has become to grow and create jobs.

The combination of heavy-handed regulations, confusing paperwork requirements, and a complex and unfair tax code make it harder and harder to succeed.

April 8, 2016 Opinion Editorial
In 2014, the number one cause of injury-related deaths in the entire state of Michigan was drug overdoses.

It's a tragic and fast-growing epidemic that touches every corner of our state and is tearing apart families and communities.

March 30, 2016 Opinion Editorial

April Demers is no stranger to addiction — she was born into it.

At a young age, April slept in the car while her mom drank at the bar. As she grew up, April's mom would disappear for days, leaving her to fend for herself.

These experiences made April determined to reverse the trends of addiction.

Issues:
March 21, 2016 Opinion Editorial
We've repeatedly heard the same campaign rhetoric for seven years, but President Obama finally submitted a plan to Congress in late February to close down Guantanamo Bay.

Pages