Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

Opinion Editorials

June 14, 2016 Opinion Editorial
Christopher Risner was a standout high school athlete with scholarship offers to play basketball in college. Then his life spiraled out of control.

At first, he started taking medication to cope with his depression, but it eventually led to opioid and heroin addiction. After several stints in and out of rehab, Christopher is now clean and in recovery.

April 26, 2016 Opinion Editorial
By Rep. Tim Walberg and Rep. Mike Bishop

For too many Americans, an underperforming economy has diminished opportunities to pursue their dreams and leave behind a better future for the next generation.

April 25, 2016 Opinion Editorial
Talk to nearly any small business owner or employee and they'll tell you how challenging it has become to grow and create jobs.

The combination of heavy-handed regulations, confusing paperwork requirements, and a complex and unfair tax code make it harder and harder to succeed.

April 8, 2016 Opinion Editorial
In 2014, the number one cause of injury-related deaths in the entire state of Michigan was drug overdoses.

It's a tragic and fast-growing epidemic that touches every corner of our state and is tearing apart families and communities.

March 30, 2016 Opinion Editorial

April Demers is no stranger to addiction — she was born into it.

At a young age, April slept in the car while her mom drank at the bar. As she grew up, April's mom would disappear for days, leaving her to fend for herself.

These experiences made April determined to reverse the trends of addiction.

Issues:
March 21, 2016 Opinion Editorial
We've repeatedly heard the same campaign rhetoric for seven years, but President Obama finally submitted a plan to Congress in late February to close down Guantanamo Bay.
March 15, 2016 Opinion Editorial
By Tim Walberg and Mark Swanson

In today's all-too-often divisive political environment, the people of Michigan and across the country can be forgiven for their frustration.

Issues:
February 29, 2016 Opinion Editorial
February is Career and Technical Education Month, a time to raise awareness and recognize vital efforts to help today's students prepare for tomorrow's jobs.

Rapid advancements in science and technology continue to impact the economic landscape, the types of jobs available, and the skills necessary to do them.

January 15, 2016 Opinion Editorial
In recent years, we have witnessed the increasing pain and suffering inflicted by heroin and opioid addiction in communities in our districts and across the country. We, like many of our constituents, have seen firsthand how this tragic epidemic has affected our own friends and loved ones, and by sharing their stories we hope to put a face to the addiction crisis.

Issues:
January 4, 2016 Opinion Editorial
With January right around the corner, people across Michigan will take time to reflect on the previous 12 months and look with hope towards the New Year.

As the representative for Michigan's 7th District, 2015 has been a busy and productive year working on your behalf.

Issues:

Pages