Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Tim Walberg

Representing the 7th District of Michigan

Connect

Opinion Editorials

May 1, 2017 Opinion Editorial
When you open up the newspaper, it’s hard to miss all the heartbreaking stories about heroin and prescription drug abuse: overdoses, families torn apart and young people failing to reach their full potential.
April 9, 2017 Opinion Editorial
One of the consistent concerns I hear from small businesses and manufacturers as I travel the 7th District is the endless regulatory onslaught coming out of Washington, D.C.
March 21, 2017 Opinion Editorial

By Reps. Sam Johnson (R-TX) and Tim Walberg (R-MI)

Aetna CEO Mark Bertolini warned last month that the Affordable Care Act is in a “death spiral.” Because ObamaCare is failing, we are debating how best to repeal and replace it. But amid this debate, it’s important to remember the people ObamaCare is hurting.

February 14, 2017 Opinion Editorial

By Reps. Francis Rooney and Tim Walberg

The Times’ Feb. 10 editorial, “House Republicans side with Wall Street against the little guy,” sadly resorts to worn out rhetoric and attacks about motive rather than engaging in an honest debate about ideas.

January 23, 2017 Opinion Editorial
By Tim Walberg, Mike Bishop, Paul Mitchell, Dave Trott

In 2010, Nancy Pelosi famously said of Obamacare, "We have to pass the bill so you can find out what is in it." Seven years later, we now know what's in it: rising costs, fewer options and, for many, more uncertainty than ever before.

Issues:
January 2, 2017 Opinion Editorial
As 2016 draws to a close, and we look expectantly to the New Year, I'd like to thank you for the opportunity to continue to serve Michigan's 7th District and pause to reflect on the previous 12 months. In the past year, we hosted more than 40 coffee hours and townhall meetings in every corner of the district to listen to the people's priorities. 

Issues:
November 7, 2016 Opinion Editorial
How do we get the economy growing more rapidly, create more good-paying jobs, and make health care more affordable? These are the issues we consistently get asked about around kitchen tables, in coffee shops, and at small businesses as we meet with the people we are privileged to represent.

October 31, 2016 Opinion Editorial
In Michigan, we have a long and rich tradition of manufacturing. Our state's hardworking men and women are second to none and our manufacturing industry is a leading driver of good-paying jobs and economic growth.

September 20, 2016 Opinion Editorial
On Monday, U.S. Rep. Tim Walberg, R-Tipton, held a forum at Bedford High School to discuss the ongoing problem of heroin addiction in Monroe County and the nation.

Joining him were experts from around the county to shed light on various aspects of the issue and what potentially can be done to combat it.

June 14, 2016 Opinion Editorial
Christopher Risner was a standout high school athlete with scholarship offers to play basketball in college. Then his life spiraled out of control.

At first, he started taking medication to cope with his depression, but it eventually led to opioid and heroin addiction. After several stints in and out of rehab, Christopher is now clean and in recovery.

Pages