Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Tim Walberg

Representing the 7th District of Michigan

Connect

Opinion Editorials

June 20, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Our hard work in the House to help Americans attain skills for 21st century jobs is making headway, and last month, the House and Senate announced a bipartisan, bicameral agreement to reform the federal workforce development system.  This compromise, entitled the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), will give states the tools they need to strengthen these vital programs to help put

May 27, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Memorial Day is a time when we commemorate the ultimate sacrifice made by the men and women who died in military service. As we reflect on the tremendous sacrifices that members of our armed forces and their families make when they serve our country, we must also remember our responsibility to assist those returning from the battlefield.

Issues:
May 23, 2014 Opinion Editorial

On April 18, President Obama once again delayed the approval of the Keystone XL pipeline – an astonishing decision considering public support for this project is at an all-time high.  According to a recent Rasmussen poll, more than 60-percent of Americans are in favor of the pipeline, and that figure continues to climb.

May 5, 2014 Opinion Editorial

In my office sits a "U.S. debt clock" which tracks each dollar added to our debt.  The debt clock has only ticked upwards in large part due to wasteful spending and harmful government regulations. By pushing back against Washington's excess and promoting commonsense rules, I believe we can reverse this trend, increase opportunity and enable more take-home pay for all hardworking taxpayers.

Issues:
April 21, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Balancing the needs of work and family can be tough. A job is necessary to provide for the needs of your household while families also require your time and attention. 

While there will never be a perfect formula for the work/life balance, one key lies in giving workers the flexibility to make the right choice for themselves, and their families.

March 28, 2014 Opinion Editorial

A functional job training system is critical to helping connect employers with people in our community who are looking for work. Unfortunately, the existing system is broken. According to a February report from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, about 11 million Americans are currently looking for work, while millions of jobs available right now go unfulfilled because of the skill gaps.

February 25, 2014 Opinion Editorial
Last week I covered two town hall meet­ings hosted by U.S. Rep. Tim Walberg during which he discussed the impact of the Affordable Care Act, or "Obamacare" on residents in Michi­gan's 7th Congressional District.

Issues:
February 25, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Graduating from high school greatly increases the chances of finding and keeping a job later in life. Unfortunately, current trends paint a bleak picture, as nearly 30 percent of students across Michigan fail to graduate and in Jackson County Public Schools the number is even higher.

Issues:
February 11, 2014 Opinion Editorial
BY U.S. REP WALBERG, R-TIPTON, AND CINDY LILEY

As the president's health care law unravels, more individuals and small businesses are coming forward with their experiences of how new health care rules and regulations are hurting them through increased premiums, the loss of health plans they like and uncertainty about how to plan for the future.

Issues:

Pages