Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

Opinion Editorials

July 24, 2014 Opinion Editorial

The U.S. contains more oil, coal and natural gas resources than any other nation in the world, yet hardworking families across Michigan are still struggling to pay the price at the pump. With these abundant resources and a workforce yearning for new opportunities, Americans shouldn't be forced to choose between filling the gas tank or putting food on the table.

July 17, 2014 Opinion Editorial

 For many Americans, the dream of a comfortable middle-class existence seems increasingly out of reach.

June 30, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Nearly 2 million students graduated from college or a university last year yet, in spite of reaching a major milestone, many of these college graduates are struggling to find work that reflects their skill set. In the latest jobs report, the unemployment rate for 20- to 24-year-olds totaled 11.9 percent — almost double the national average.

June 23, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Each year, millions of men, women and children as young as 12 years old are trafficked around the world and even here in the U.S. Because combatting this issue is so important to me I recently held a human trafficking forum with local officials to discuss what we're doing to end these heinous crimes, and by the sheer number of you who attended can tell it's important to you too.

June 20, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Our hard work in the House to help Americans attain skills for 21st century jobs is making headway, and last month, the House and Senate announced a bipartisan, bicameral agreement to reform the federal workforce development system.  This compromise, entitled the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), will give states the tools they need to strengthen these vital programs to help put

May 27, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Memorial Day is a time when we commemorate the ultimate sacrifice made by the men and women who died in military service. As we reflect on the tremendous sacrifices that members of our armed forces and their families make when they serve our country, we must also remember our responsibility to assist those returning from the battlefield.

Issues:
May 23, 2014 Opinion Editorial

On April 18, President Obama once again delayed the approval of the Keystone XL pipeline – an astonishing decision considering public support for this project is at an all-time high.  According to a recent Rasmussen poll, more than 60-percent of Americans are in favor of the pipeline, and that figure continues to climb.

May 5, 2014 Opinion Editorial

In my office sits a "U.S. debt clock" which tracks each dollar added to our debt.  The debt clock has only ticked upwards in large part due to wasteful spending and harmful government regulations. By pushing back against Washington's excess and promoting commonsense rules, I believe we can reverse this trend, increase opportunity and enable more take-home pay for all hardworking taxpayers.

Issues:
April 21, 2014 Opinion Editorial

Balancing the needs of work and family can be tough. A job is necessary to provide for the needs of your household while families also require your time and attention. 

While there will never be a perfect formula for the work/life balance, one key lies in giving workers the flexibility to make the right choice for themselves, and their families.

March 28, 2014 Opinion Editorial

A functional job training system is critical to helping connect employers with people in our community who are looking for work. Unfortunately, the existing system is broken. According to a February report from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, about 11 million Americans are currently looking for work, while millions of jobs available right now go unfulfilled because of the skill gaps.

Pages