Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

Opinion Editorials

September 18, 2013 Opinion Editorial

By Rep Walberg

As it stands today, our tax code favors big business and special interests; it's confusing for taxpayers and hurts economic growth. However, despite these unpleasant realities that impact all of us we can reverse course with comprehensive tax reform that will make the tax code simpler and fairer for everyone.

September 4, 2013 Opinion Editorial

A successful education system and local control go hand-in-hand.  Likewise, unnecessary interference from the federal government can hurt students' ability to get a great education. If we want to see more students graduating and finding the jobs they need, then we need to get the federal government out of the way, restore local control, empower parents and support effective teachers.

September 3, 2013 Opinion Editorial
Federal calorie-count rules would slice into restaurant jobs...
August 13, 2013 Opinion Editorial

As a regular commuter across Michigan, I share your frustration with high gas and energy prices. Uncertainty about the high cost of these prices makes it harder for families to live within their budget. It also hurts Michigan's ability to regain its place as a competitive manufacturing state at a time when they are already threatened by additional federal mandates and government regulations.

August 2, 2013 Opinion Editorial

The recent pattern of federal government abuse is very troubling, undermines citizens' trust in their government and we, the American people, deserve an explanation from President Barack Obama as to why his administration used its vast powers to commit these misdeeds.

July 30, 2013 Opinion Editorial

Every day we hear new reports of challenges surrounding the implementation of the president's health care law. More workers and businesses are coming forward to express frustration with the law.

June 25, 2013 Opinion Editorial

The public's trust in government has been shaken by a string of recent controversies. It's chilling to learn what's happened under this administration's watch and, as seen from the influx of calls and letters to my office every day, I know you are concerned as well. As your representative, I am committed to pursuing accountability and increased transparency for our federal government.

June 24, 2013 Opinion Editorial
We're continuing to work on the American people's priorities in the House and tackle their biggest concerns. Right now, that includes developing a healthy economy so hardworking individuals can find and keep good-paying jobs, providing access to education and training, lowering tax rates, ensuring access to affordable health care and reducing energy and fuel costs.
May 30, 2013 Opinion Editorial

It's been more than three years since President Obama signed the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act into law, and it's becoming obvious that it will neither protect patients, nor make their health care more affordable, but instead will cause millions of Americans to lose access to their current health care, lead to higher premium rates and hurt job creation.

Issues:

Pages