Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

Opinion Editorials

December 2, 2013 Opinion Editorial

President Obama has frequently promised that if you like your health-care plan, you can keep it. But ask the more than 3.5 million Americans who have lost their health insurance in the last six weeks alone just how true that pledge is.

November 18, 2013 Opinion Editorial
From transportation to job creation, an abundant supply of energy is critical to the health of our economy, especially in Monroe County where DTE Energy and CMS Energy employ more than 600 people combined. But uncertainty about high energy costs is making it harder for Michigan's businesses to grow and for families to live within their budget.

November 11, 2013 Opinion Editorial

During a recent visit to Walter Reed National Medical Center, I met 24-year-old Sgt. Christopher Hemwall from Monroe as he underwent rehabilitation. In March 2011, he was shot three times in an ambush while serving in Afghanistan's Kandahar Province.

Eventually, Sgt. Hemwall's right leg had to be amputated below the knee after an experimental treatment failed.

Issues:
November 1, 2013 Opinion Editorial

The recently released Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) September employment report certainly wasn't worth the wait. Delayed because of the government shutdown, September's jobs report disappointed as our economy added just 148,000 jobs, fewer than the previous month's and slower than the average pace of growth within the last year.

September 18, 2013 Opinion Editorial

By Rep Walberg

As it stands today, our tax code favors big business and special interests; it's confusing for taxpayers and hurts economic growth. However, despite these unpleasant realities that impact all of us we can reverse course with comprehensive tax reform that will make the tax code simpler and fairer for everyone.

September 4, 2013 Opinion Editorial

A successful education system and local control go hand-in-hand.  Likewise, unnecessary interference from the federal government can hurt students' ability to get a great education. If we want to see more students graduating and finding the jobs they need, then we need to get the federal government out of the way, restore local control, empower parents and support effective teachers.

September 3, 2013 Opinion Editorial
Federal calorie-count rules would slice into restaurant jobs...
August 13, 2013 Opinion Editorial

As a regular commuter across Michigan, I share your frustration with high gas and energy prices. Uncertainty about the high cost of these prices makes it harder for families to live within their budget. It also hurts Michigan's ability to regain its place as a competitive manufacturing state at a time when they are already threatened by additional federal mandates and government regulations.

Pages