Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Walberg, Bergman to Object to Certain Presidential Electors on January 6th

January 4, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. - Today, Rep. Tim Walberg (MI-07) and Rep. Jack Bergman (MI-01) announced they will formally object during the Electoral College certification process on January 6, 2021. Since Election Day, constituents have demanded Congress launch a full investigation into potential fraud and election irregularities and ensure election integrity measures are enacted.

The Members stated, “The very foundation of our Democracy lies in the tenets of a free, fair, and secure election. Americans deserve to know only legal votes are counted and reports regarding irregularities, fraud, and failure to follow election laws are thoroughly investigated. Poll challengers have raised valid concerns about election integrity across our Nation that brings into question the results of the 2020 election and puts faith in future elections in jeopardy.

“While the easy answer is ignoring election irregularities – we will not stand idly by without taking every lawfully available option to ensure the outcomes of our elections can be trusted. This includes objecting to the electoral votes from disputed states where there is evidence warranting an investigation.

"Our options are not binary - Congress has an obligation to the tens of millions of Americans who have lost faith in our election process to prove that our elections are free, fair, and follow laws in place. We join with our Senate colleagues calling for an Emergency Electoral Commission to perform an emergency audit of the election results in the 10 days before the inauguration."

Objecting during the certification process is not an unprecedented action and was done as recently as 2017 when seven Democrat Members of Congress (Reps. Jim McGovern, Barbara Lee, Sheila Jackson Lee, Raul Grijalva, Pramila Jayapal, Jamie Raskin, and Maxine Waters) objected to the 2016 Presidential election.

Additionally, in 2005, 31 House Democrats objected to the counting of Ohio's electoral votes in the 2004 presidential election claiming widespread irregularities on Election Day. Included in those 31 House Democrats are: Rep. James Clyburn, Rep. Danny Davis, Rep. Raul Grijalva, Rep. Alcee Hastings, Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee, Rep. Barbara Lee, Rep. Frank Pallone, Rep. Jan Schakowsky, Rep. Bennie Thompson, Rep. Maxine Waters, Rep. Ed Markey, former Rep. John Conyers, and former Rep. John Lewis.